Picos de Europa

This weekend was our final weekend in Santander, and I can’t believe how fast the time has flown by! This excursion was to the Picos de Europa, an absolutely stunning mountain range in which you could hike, climb, camp, and explore the beauty of the area. Being here made me want to stay in the little town of Potes for another month to rent a tiny apartment just to hike all of the trails and just soak up all that the area has to offer.

Our day began with a 2 hour bus ride to the Picos National Park, where we took a couple minutes to grab a coffee or a snack before heading to our trail. At the main point we stopped at there was an option to take a cable car all the way to the top of the mountains (the ones shown in the featured photo), and from there you can hike trails or work your way back down to the base of the mountain. Unfortunately, our group didn’t get to do this, however if I am ever back here, it’s on my list of to-do’s and I definitely recommend for you to check it out in your travels!

DSC_0178.JPG

After our short break, we headed back to the bus to get dropped off at our hiking site. The weather was perfect (as you can see in the picture above), a little warm with the sun beaming down, but overall a great day for a hike. Our hike was about 2 hours or so, and we got some amazing views! This view in particular made me feel like I was back home in the West Virginia mountains…

Another thing I love about this park is that it’s tailored to everyone’s abilities. So if you’re nervous about it being too difficult, definitely don’t let that hold you back! There are trails for all ages and levels of hikers, walkers, and climbers. Our trail was fairly easy since we had a big group, so I can tell you first hand that regardless of your abilities, get out there and explore this beautiful place! You will not regret it.

Following our hike, we met back up with the bus to head into the town of Potes for lunch. This place was so cute! There were tons of little restaurants and cafes where you could grab two courses, a drink, and dessert for anywhere between 11 and 13 euros! It was so worth it. I got a delicious mixed salad with tuna, and then escalopes (little ribs basically) with french fries. To finish it off, I got a chocolate tart/cake thing (there wasn’t really a name for it) that was delicious! Well worth the 13 euros, that is for sure.

 

After we finished up at lunch, we rode up the mountain to the monastery named Santo Toribio de Liébana or Santuario del Lignum Crucis which is a replica of one of the chapels in the Cathedrals in Santa Fe in Bogotá, Columbia. The chapel and the rest of the monastery itself is in the shape of the cross in respect to the fact that the tabernacle here is home to one of the largest pieces of the True Cross; the cross in which Jesus Christ was crucified.

This place was stunning. Being that close to, what is thought and hoped to be, the cross that my Savior carried and was nailed to, was such an amazing experience. I haven’t done any fact checks on it, and I feel that it would take a lot to uncover all the theories and know if it’s truly legitimate, so I am not totally informed on anything more than what they provided for us. I did read that it is a piece of the cross that was uncovered by Empress Saint Helena in Jerusalem. Regardless: this place was incredibly peaceful, filled with God’s beauty and presence.

One of the most wonderful things about our God is that no matter where we are, we can always sit in His presence.

2016-07-23 16.26.56.jpg
Here is the piece of the True Cross encased in this beautiful gold covering. You are allowed to touch it, kiss it, pray with it, etc.

Finally, to end the day, we were able to walk a couple minutes up the road for a panoramic view of the Picos, and wow what a view! Of course we had to take a million pictures, so I’ll attach some of my favorites below. Enjoy!

 

 

Life awaits, my friends! Stay tuned later on today for another special bonus post 🙂

Love always,

Cat

ps-Yesterday was my beautiful mom’s birthday!! So happy birthday to the woman who gave me life on this planet! I love you so much and hope your day was amazing!

cc_206
photo credit: Rivers and Roots Photo Co. 

 

Leave a comment