Hasta Luego, Santander

Well, it’s over. One month, five days a week, 5 hours a day of classes has flown by over the past 30 days. I truly had one of the best experiences of my life, met the most wonderful people, and grew so much in my Spanish abilities.

In this experience, I learned a lot of Spanish. I learned new ways to express myself, broadened my vocabulary, and dove into the culture of Spain through culture class. We saw some of the most famous and historic places in the country throughout our excursions, and tried some of the most interesting and different foods.

In addition to all the culture, I learned so much about myself. I learned how to live in another place other than my own home for an extended period of time, and how to meet new people and create friendships with people from all over the world. I learned how to try new things and put myself out there in order to grow on a personal level.

One of the most important lessons I learned, perhaps, is the incredible importance of a strong Christian community as a believer.

There was a point, if any of you read my last post, where I felt that I had drifted far away from the Lord. I felt isolated and alone despite being surrounded by people every day. The issue stemmed deeper than just the presence of bodies around me, but it lies in something similar to what is talked about in Psalm 1

Blessed is the man
    who walks not in the counsel of the wicked,
nor stands in the way of sinners,
    nor sits in the seat of scoffers;
but his delight is in the law of the Lord,
    and on his law he meditates day and night. 
He is like a tree
    planted by streams of water
that yields its fruit in its season,
    and its leaf does not wither.
In all that he does, he prospers.”

Psalm 1:1-3

I want to focus in on verse 3: “He is like a tree planted by streams of water, that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.” Often times I talk about how we should be active in our ministries, and that our best work is done beyond the bubbles of our communities. Although that is true, and we are commanded to “go and make disciples of all nations” (Matthew 28:19), we aren’t able to do this important work without the help of our stream by which we are planted.

I feel so fortunate to have an incredible community within YoungLife as well as within my Church. In YoungLife, all of the leaders stick together; we worship together at leadership, we pray for each other, we keep each other accountable, we cry and hurt together, and we enjoy life together through the unifying desire for high school kids, college kids, and everyone in between to be in relationship with Jesus Christ.

I have loved challenging myself and branching outside of my comfort zone; ministering to other people around me instead of my normal demographic at Morgantown High School. I am grateful for the experience the Lord has given me, but am so excited to be home with the community to refocus and recharge before the beginning of this upcoming semester.

I loved my time in Santander, and could see myself spending more time there in the future. Who knows, maybe international ministry is a part of my story. For now, I will stay faithful to my calling to the girls at MHS, and will enjoy my next couple days here in Spain before coming home.

Hasta luego, Santander. Thank you for the month of adventure and learning! Espero verte pronto.

Life awaits, my friends!

Cat

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Nuria Ballesteros Soria July 31, 2016 — 11:16 am

    ¡Yo también espero verte pronto!¡Me alegro de que hayas disfrutado de Santander!¡Es una ciudad preciosa!
    Un beso fuerte.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment