Last Day in Madrid 

Yesterday was our final day in Spain. It’s hard to believe that I have been here for one whole month! 33 days have come and gone quicker than I would have liked, but I’m so glad to have had this experience!

We finished our trip with a visit to the Palacio Real de Madrid (the Royal Palace of Madrid), and it was perhaps the most beautiful building I have ever been in! The palace is massive-I mean 2,800 rooms, massive! Fortunately (or unfortunately depending on how excited you are to visit) we only visited the main floor where the Royal Families spent their days throughout the centuries.


I couldn’t take too many pictures on the inside because it was against the rules, but I can tell you a tour is definitely worth it. If you really want to dive into the history, get a guided tour. The knowledgable guides will tell you all about each room, what the murals stand for, the small details that you would miss if you were by yourself, and the significance of pieces of furniture or items on display. Some of the things you can see on the inside include the table where the King of Spain signed the contract to enter into the European Union (which was also used by the previous king to sign the paper, indicating his son, current King Felipe VI, as his successor), the ballroom where events are still held today, and so much more. So if you have the chance, definitely check this place out! Don’t forget to head over to the armory when you’re finished at the palace to view various different armor and weapons common to the army throughout the centuries.

Finally, we walked over to Plaza España to complete our tour for the afternoon. It was only a few blocks, so it wasn’t too bad of a walk. There is a big fountain/statue in the middle with several notable Spanish figures including Cervantes and Don Quijote.


We spent the afternoon shopping for last minute gifts and packing before heading to a Flamenco Show later that night. If you have the opportunity to do this, I would totally recommend it. Not only is it super fun, but it’s a great cultural experience, and a glimpse into Spanish history.


What a month it has been! I have tried foods I never thought I would try, learned more Spanish than I thought possible, reconnected with friends, and made new ones from all over the world.

Gracias, España, por la mejor experiencia de mi vida, y por los recuerdos. Ha sido increíble!

Life awaits, my friends!

Love always,

Cat

Leave a comment