The Season of Distractions

During this time of the year, there always seems to be something to distract us: studying for finals, Christmas gift buying and wrapping, and traveling to visit friends or family, among other things.

When everything gets crazy, it’s easy for me to just drop off on my consistency in quiet times. My time spent with the Lord is so necessary and my only true time of peaceful rest each day. I always find myself in a crazy cycle of sorts…

Missing a few days,

feeling guilty (which is thankfully not from the Lord, friends!),

having one great quiet time…

Then falling into the same cycle over the next few days.

I never understand how and why I get so easily distracted in the things this world presents, when the gifts from our Father are far more precious (not to mention, eternal). Thankfully, there is so much grace! James 4:8 tells us, “Come near to God and He will come near to you.”

So as we desire Christ and spend time with Him each and every day, He comes nearer to us as well; it’s a two way street, and He is always faithful and active even when we are not. Just like any relationship, this one with the Lord, is work. I was just reminded that the intercession and sacrifice didn’t stop with Jesus’ death on the cross, Jesus intercedes for us each and every day of our lives, despite our imperfections. Hebrews 7:24-25 says this:

“but because Jesus lives forever he has a permanent priesthood. Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them.”

(emphasis added)

When I read this, I couldn’t stop thinking about it and talking about it. I mean, Jesus literally lives to cover our mistakes. He is not only alive and active, but he is reaching into our lives every day, and intervening on our behalf when we get caught up in the distractions that steal us away from time with God and our walk with Him.

I have been married almost seven months now, and quickly learned that marriage is most certainly not always easy, it’s work! My husband and I have to put in time and effort to communicate effectively, work through problems, and learn about each other in order to improve our marriage.

Cultivating our relationship with God is the same: we must draw near to Him by giving Him our time, talking to Him in prayer, and studying His Word, so He can also draw near to us. Thankfully, there is no expectation of perfection! God knows our hearts and knows how sinful and messy we are, that’s why Jesus’ sacrifice is, and will always be, enough.

So take heart, dear friends! Don’t go down the road of guilt and shame as we get entangled in the messiness of life and its’ diversions. Rather, turn around, and begin the journey back to where you need to be, confessing your sins to the Lord, and drawing near to Him again. Thankfully, Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross is enough, and there is nothing too messy or too complicated for the cross to redeem. 

Amidst myself being in the process of breaking yet another one of these crazy cycles in my life, I was able to find peace in the promise that Jesus is active and saving us each and every day of our lives. So I hope to encourage you today, no matter where you are in your own crazy cycle, to take time out of your day and give it to the Lord because He is so much more precious than the things we get caught up in.

Life awaits, dear friends! Happy Advent season!

Love always,

Cat

I am really looking forward to the reviving of this blog for the purpose in which it was originally intended! There are a lot of changes in my life right now, and I hope and pray the Lord will use this place as somewhere His light can be shown to friends and family or anyone who happens to come across it. So I am working towards improving my consistency with more posts filled with encouragement and truth!

Leave a comment